Focus of research

The group of Eric Eldering at the Dept of Experimental Immunology of the AMC works on apoptosis regulation in normal and pathological immune cells. We apply cellular, biochemical and molecular biology techniques in human cells and mouse models, in two main research lines. The first concerns translational research into leukemia, driven by clinical problems, in close collaboration with prof Arnon Kater (Dept of Hematology, AMC). We have studied apoptosis (dys)regulation in B cells since 2002, subsequently focusing on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL). We currently study three aspects of CLL biology:
1. CLL functional genetics and molecular diagnostics
2. The leukemic micro-environment, apoptosis dysregulation and novel drugs
3. Interaction between the immune system and CLL with focus on immune metabolism

Second is a research line devoted to more fundamental immunological issues.We have studied the role of Bcl-2 family members in T and B cells during initiation of the immune response. Bcl-2 members Noxa and Mcl-1 control outgrowth of high affinity lymphocytes as well as clonal diversity. Currently we are studying interactions among Bcl-2 family members using a novel technique called BH3 mimetic profiling (Peperzak 2017). The ultimate goal of this research is to apply the insight obtained in novel vaccination and anti-cancer strategies.

In 2014, three NWO Veni laureates have started their own projects: Felix Wensveen studies selection of high affinity T and B cells (finished January 2017), Victor Peperzak investigates regulation of pro-survival Mcl-1 in malignant B cells (moved to UMC Utrecht in Nov 2015), and Rianne van der Windt studies Immunometabolism, which has become an integral part of our Hemato-Oncology research line.