Heart Failure & Arrhythmias









Focus of research group (I)

Name PI: Elga de Vries Department, UMC: Molecular Cell Biology and Immunology Size of research group: 10 fte;

Current mission and aims

Dedicated to investigating **the role of alterations of the neurovascular unit in neurological disorders** in order to better understand their pathophysiology and enable novel diagnostic and therapeutic applications

Current vision: Understand and restore impaired neurovascular function to reinstate brain homeostasis

Current aims:

- Unravel molecular control brain barrier endothelium / CSF epithelium: function and immune quiescence
- Define contribution of altered cell –cell interaction neuroinflammation / neurdegeneration
- Therapeutic validity in in vivo models
- Translate findings to clinic (imaging, biomarkers)



Heart Failure & Arrhythmias



& Thrombosis







Focus of research group (II)

Current expertise

- 1) Understanding function of CNS barrier endothelial / epithelial cells (miRNA, integrity, transmigration)
- 2) CNS cell cell interactions (primary CNS cells human / rodent: endothelium, astrocytes, microglia, neurons, pericytes: iPSC)
- 3) Animal models: marmoset & cortical, EAE, transgenic AD models, MCAO (stroke model)
- 4) Biological samples: MS & AD brain tissue/CSF/blood

Current funding

Dutch MS research foundation, IMI, GMSI (industrial grant) Horizon2020, Marie-Curie ITN, ZonMW (Memorabel)

Heart Failure & Arrhythmias











Future plans

Short term (1-2 year) plan

Plan: - molecular controllers of brain endothelial function (i.e. nucleair receptors)

Necessary infrastructure:

- iPSC derived BBB endothelial and CNS cells: iPSC unit
- 3D co-culture models
- Accesible in vivo models (zebrafish?)
- Deep seq plus analysis

Long term (>2 year) plan

Plan: translate finding to in vivo models: counteracting disease?

Necessary infrastructure:

- Transgenic cell specific animal unit
- Imaging (high field MRI mice)

Collaboration in ACS

Many: (a.o. Ed van Bavel/Erik Bakker, Jonathan Coutinho, Mat Daemen, Peter Hordijk, Noam Zelcer,)