These are challenging and turbulent times, the pandemic has the world in its grasp for almost two years now. The situation is putting a lot of pressure on our hospital and it is still uncertain how COVID-19 will develop in the near future. Despite the gravity of the situation, we would like to draw your attention to this year’s Amsterdam UMC Societal Impact Award. This award will go to the Amsterdam UMC researcher with the most relevant societal impact in the academic year 2020-2021. So, check out the personal videos and let us know who you think should receive the award this year by entering your vote before December 20. 

One of the ambitions of Amsterdam UMC is to perform research with high societal impact and relevance. To encourage and recognize this, Amsterdam UMC organizes the annual Societal Impact Award. This year the internal jury with Yvo Smulders (chair), Carla Hollak, Allard van der Beek, and Anton Kunst, selected four finalists. All four researchers have made an impressive contribution to society at large, but unfortunately, there can only be one winner. You can help to decide who should become the Societal Impact Award winner of 2021 by entering your vote (until December 20).

The four finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

  1. Marjolein van Egmond, Departments Surgery & Molecular Cell Biology and Immunology - Amsterdam Institute for Infection & Immunity and Cancer Center Amsterdam.
  2. Ellen Laan, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology - Amsterdam Reproduction & Development.
  3. Marlies Schijven, Department of Surgery - Amsterdam Gastroenterology Endocrinology Metabolism.
  4. Danielle Timmermans, Department of Public & Occupational Health - Amsterdam Public Health.

Find the full profiles, personal videos and poll on intranet here. Or submit your vote directly via this form. Be aware that you need to log in with your Amsterdam UMC account to be able to vote.

This year, the winner will be selected based on the results of the voting via the poll (50%) and the evaluation of an external jury (50%). The external jury is formed by Dianda Veldman (Patiëntenfederatie NL), Malika Sevil (Het Parool), Henk Smid (ZonMw), Bertho Nieboer (MedischContact and gyneacologist) and José Manshanden (GGD Amsterdam). The winner of the award will be announced during the new year’s speech.